Answering the 11 Questions From Tim Ferriss’ ‘Tribe of Mentors’

Robert Carnes
6 min readJan 5, 2024

The Book

Several years ago, I bought Tribe of Mentors on Kindle. It was cheap and I’d heard about Tim Ferriss because of The 4-Hour Work Week. It sat in my Kindle library until I recently opened it and became instantly fascinated.

The concept behind this 600-page book is simple. Ferriss came up with 11 questions and sent them to hundreds of successful people. Plenty of people agreed to send their answers, which were compiled into the book.

I’ve heard of several of the people he “interviewed” and learned about many more. Some of their answers were dull and predictable, but most were enlightening and inspiring. The practicality of the questions (especially book, product, and habit recommendations) was especially helpful.

Like others have done, I’ve decided to compile my answers to the same questions. I may not be as successful as the people in the book, but this practice is a helpful method of self-reflection.

The Questions

I edited these Tim’s questions down to their bare bones for the sake of simplicity. His questions are slightly longer, which does provide some helpful context. You get the general idea.

  1. What book have you given most as a gift, and why?

--

--

Robert Carnes

Communicator. Innovator. Storyteller. Author of several books, including The Story Cycle.